UN ESCWA Digital Arabic Content Award

The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (ESCWA) is partnering with the WSA and launching an award that recognizes efforts to develop digital Arabic content for sustainable development in the Arab region.


The Award will:


  • be delivered annually.
  • target institutions and young entrepreneurs from all Arab countries.
  • highlight the benefits of digital technologies for advancing sustainable development.
  • promote the creation of quality content related to the Sustainable Development Goals.

Applications are open to institutions and young entrepreneurs from Arab countries who have created digital Arabic content applications or products that have a clear impact on society. Institutions can be public or private, academic or non-governmental; and young entrepreneurs can be from formal startups, teams of young people, or individuals younger than 35 years.


The rules and conditions for participation are set by a joint ESCWA-WSA steering committee, and submissions will be evaluated by a jury of experts, leading to the selection of winners and announcement of their awards at AFSD-2022.


Following the launch of the Award, a related webinar and call for applications will be held in June 2021. Participants can submit their applications before 30 September 2021 through a dedicated web application.


For questions, comments and suggestions, please write to:

Application process for DAC Award 2021 is closed!


Winners will be announced on March 2022. Follow the information on the website!



More information here!